Chen-ou Liu's Translation Project: First English-Chinese Haiku and Tanka Blog

Sunday, December 17, 2017

Moonlight and Aging Dog Tanka

moonlight
dripping from an icicle ...
my wife
leaves me alone
with my aging dog

Season’s Greetings Letter, 2017

Sound of Loneliness Tanka

the slow spiral
of a yellow leaf ...
does anyone
hear the sound
of my loneliness?


Season’s Greetings Letter, 2017

Saturday, December 16, 2017

Snowy Silence Tanka

I'm entombed
inside loneliness
howling with terror ...
at last my room shrouded
with snowy silence

Season’s Greetings Letter, 2017

Friday, December 15, 2017

Moon-Drenched Field Haiku

moon-drenched field
the cries of wild geese
darken the night

Season’s Greetings Letter, 2017

Thursday, December 14, 2017

White Picket Fence Haiku

a cold moon
over the white picket fence
black youth

Season’s Greetings Letter, 2017

Selected Tanka: Cold Smile Tanka

I confess my sins
like squeezing out the last bit
of toothpaste...
in the back of my mind
her cold smile lingers

Gusts, 17, Spring/Summer 2013

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Sunday, December 10, 2017

Four-Leaf Clover Haiku

four-leaf clover ...
these lingering doubts
about her love
   
Chinese Translation

四葉苜
關於她的愛這些揮之不去
的疑問
   
Ardea, 7, 2017

Saturday, December 9, 2017

White Lies Haiku

reading
between his white lies
stratus clouds

   
Chinese Translation

解讀他的
各種白色謊言
層積雲


Ardea, 7, 2017

Friday, December 8, 2017

Selected Tanka: Limping Shadow Tanka

sissy, sissy!
the taunts clinging 
like his sweaty T-shirt
he and his shadow
limp toward home

Gusts, 17, Spring/Summer 2013

Selected Kyoka: Tudor Court Face Kyoka

my muse listens
to the hum and strike
of my words...
that same old look
on her Tudor court face

NeverEnding Story, March 27, 2013

Thursday, December 7, 2017

Monday, December 4, 2017

Sunday, December 3, 2017